The Muscle Baker's Top 10 Recipes for Nut Butter Addicts!

The nut butter struggle is a real thing nowadays… one scroll on Instagram and I’m met with a bombardment of nut butter food porn that just makes me want to run straight for the 27 tub selection hiding in my pantry and have an absolute food party. We all hate that we love it (admit it) but hey… the stuff is good, there is no denying!

So, in honour of the nut butter obsession living in each and every one of us, we have selected our very best recipes + a few knowledge bombs which will only prove that… this nut butter thing, its kinda the way forward!

 

DID YOU KNOW:

A 2-tablespoon serving of peanut butter contains up to 7 grams of protein. However the protein in peanuts, like other plant proteins, contains an incomplete set of amino acids, so make sure to compliment it with grains like wheat, rice, and corn for it to become a complete protein. Peanut butter on whole wheat bread (or alternative) is a pretty easy (Vegan-friendly) snack that, while pretty high in calories, provides a heaping dose of all the essential amino acids and plenty of healthy fats to boot.

 

Green PB Smoothie - http://themusclebakery.com/recipes/dairy-free/green-peanut-butter-smoothie-dairy-free/

 

Vegan PB Cookie - http://themusclebakery.com/vegan/mantecados/

Supersized Protein Donut - http://www.gymversus.com/blogs/food_recipes/38088833-supersized-protein-donut

Mud Pie Balls - http://www.gymversus.com/blogs/food_recipes/29370689-mud-pie-balls

DID YOU KNOW:

A serving of almond butter is equal to approximately 2 tablespoons. If you eat this amount of almond butter, you'll get approximately 7 grams of protein. It is slightly less than the 8 grams in a 2-tablespoon serving of peanut butter, but it's still a good dose of protein for the amount of almond butter you're eating and its taste is far more luxurious. Perfect for those who don’t like peanuts. Almond butter like peanut butter is an incomplete protein, so make sure to compliment with other foods to get a complete protein. Our favourite way to eat this one (other than straight from the tub with a spoon) is drizzled over hot cinnamon oats, its flavor works beautifully with cinnamon and spices in recipes.

 

Banana Breakfast Bars - http://www.gymversus.com/blogs/food_recipes/18124845-banana-breakfast-bars

Clean Almondtella - http://themusclebakery.com/recipes/condiments/clean-almondtella/ 

Dairy-free Banoffee Crumble - http://themusclebakery.com/recipes/dairy-free/dairy-free-banoffee-crumble/

DID YOU KNOW:

Cashews are not the highest protein-containing nut, with only about 4 grams per 30g approx. And even though cashew butter is slightly more concentrated, with close to 6 grams of protein per 2-tablespoon serving it still reigns under peanut and almond in the protein race. Having said that, the taste of cashew butter is unbeatable and for those who like a subtle taste, this one is perfect. Ridiculously tasty in cookies, with white chocolate *drool*

 

Lemon & Poppy Seed Protein Bars - http://themusclebakery.com/low-carb/lemon-poppy-bars/

Vegan Choco Cashew Cups - http://www.gymversus.com/blogs/food_recipes/37234689-vegan-choco-cashew-cups

 

Dairy-Free Choc Fudge - http://www.gymversus.com/blogs/food_recipes/17748589-dairy-free-choc-fudge

For more delectable, exquisite recipes and nutritional options please visit the wonderful and talented The Muscle Bakery.




Leave a comment

Comments will be approved before showing up.